Published On: Fri, Jun 25th, 2021

House Ethics Committee Will Not Dismiss $500 Mask Fines Against Republican Congress Members

Share This

The House Ethics Committee confirmed Friday that it would require a handful of GOP lawmakers to pay the $500 fine issued to them in mid-May when they refused to comply with the House requirements of wearing a mask. Reps. Brian Mast (R-Fla.), Beth Van Duyne (R-Texas), and Dr. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-Iowa) were among the House Republicans who refused to wear a mask appealing to the Ethics committee to waive the fines, citing that they were complying with the Centers for Disease Control’s (CDC) guidance that said people can go without a mask if they are fully vaccinated. Mast sent a letter to Chair of the House Ethics Committee Rep. Ted Deutch (D-Fla.) and Ranking Member Jackie Walorski (R-Ind.) appealing a $500 fine Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) issued him for following the CDC guidelines instead of House rules for mask-wearing. “I am appealing Speaker Pelosi’s $500 fine because I was in full compliance with the CDC guidelines … Save 10% on Citrus trees with code CITRUS

About the Author